After a short review, it was determined that first baseman Chris Parmelee applied the tag in time, and Jones was ruled out. It ended the inning for the Mariners, who saw Seager lead off the next frame with a homer.
"The first one at first base was hit or miss," Gardenhire said. "My first baseman reacted like he thought he got him, so it gave us a chance to take a peek at it."
Gardenhire issued his second challenge in a key moment in the seventh, when Seager lifted a sacrifice fly to left field with the bases loaded and one out to score Endy Chavez from third base. But third baseman Trevor Plouffe cut off the throw home to try to get Jones out at third base.
Jones was originally ruled safe by third-base umpire Gabe Morales, but Gardenhire came out to issue his second challenge. After a review, it was ruled that Jones came off the bag and was tagged out to end the inning.
"The second one, I thought right away we had him," Gardenhire said. "But it's a bang-bang play and a tough call. So that's a big play, also. They both went our way this time, and you never know what'll happen next time. It's hit or miss."
Gardenhire has now issued 21 challenges, and he has 11 calls overturned.
Rhett Bollinger is a reporter for MLB.com. Read his blog, Bollinger Beat, and follow him on Twitter @RhettBollinger. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.