Now Commenting On:

Mariners extend Player Development contract with Everett


Seattle Mariners Vice President of Baseball Operations Jack Zduriencik and Director of Player Development Chris Gwynn have announced the extension of the Player Development Contract with the Everett AquaSox, the Mariners Short-A affiliate in the Northwest League. The Player Development Contract, which would have run out at the end of the 2014 season, has been extended to cover the 2015 and 2016 seasons.

"It is wonderful for the Seattle Mariners organization to have a Northwest affiliate so close to Seattle," said Mariners General Manager Jack Zduriencik. "We have a great relationship with the Everett AquaSox ownership and everyone involved with the entire operation. It is great that the AquaSox and the Mariners can share such a strong fan base in the Northwest. We enjoy working closely with the AquaSox franchise as we develop Major League talent."

"We are pleased to extend our partnership with the Mariners," said AquaSox Executive Vice President Tom Backemeyer, "And we are excited that future Mariners will continue to get their start here in Everett."

The AquaSox have been affiliated with the Seattle Mariners for 20 seasons, becoming the Mariners affiliate in the Northwest League on September 12, 1994. The AquaSox play their home games at Everett Memorial Stadium, located in Everett, Wash., less than 30 miles north of Seattle.

"We're delighted to renew our affiliation with the Everett AquaSox," said Mariners Director of Player Development Chris Gwynn. "The city of Everett and the AquaSox fan-base have always been great supporters of our minor leaguers and the entire Mariners organization and we're looking forward to continuing to bring a great brand of baseball to the area for years to come."

The AquaSox franchise has helped develop current Mariners Willie Bloomquist, Felix Hernandez,James Jones, Dominic Leone, Yoervis Medina, Michael Saunders, Tom Wilhelmsen and Mike Zunino.

The current Everett roster includes 2014 draft picks RHP Dan Altavilla (5th), RHP Kody Kerski (8th), CAdam Martin (10th), INF Chris Mariscal (14th), RHP Vinny Nittoli (25th), INF Sheehan Planas-Arteaga (24th) and INF Taylor Smart (26th).

Boys and Girls Club of America

©2014 MLBAM, LP. All rights reserved.

The following are trademarks or service marks of Major League Baseball entities and may be used only with permission of Major League Baseball Properties, Inc. or the relevant Major League Baseball entity: Major League, Major League Baseball, MLB, the silhouetted batter logo, World Series, National League, American League, Division Series, League Championship Series, All-Star Game, and the names, nicknames, logos, uniform designs, color combinations, and slogans designating the Major League Baseball clubs and entities, and their respective mascots, events and exhibitions. Use of the Website signifies your agreement to the Terms of Use and Privacy Policy (updated May 24, 2013).

View MLB.com in English | En Español