McClendon challenged the call, which requires the fielder to have possession of the ball on the catch. But after a quick conference with replay officials in New York, crew chief Bob Davidson said the ruling on the field stands and Saunders was out.
The Mariners were leading 5-1 at the time and would have had runners at first and second with one out if Saunders had been ruled safe. Instead, the Astros got the second out and then retired Robinson Cano to get out of the inning unscathed.
Greg Johns is a reporter for MLB.com. Follow him on Twitter @GregJohnsMLB as well as his Mariners Musings blog. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.