Rizzs, Fairly on Frick Award ballot

Rizzs, Fairly on Frick Award ballot

SEATTLE -- Mariners fans who'd like to support radio broadcasters Rick Rizzs and Ron Fairly can help get them on the Ford C. Frick Award final ballot by voting for them on the Hall of Fame's Facebook site.

Two broadcasters from each team in Major League Baseball, plus 15 at-large candidates, are on the fan ballot. The top three fan selections will appear on the final 10-name ballot for the Ford C. Frick Award, which is selected by a 20-member panel.

The winner will be announced at baseball's Winter Meetings in Dallas in December.

Fan balloting will run through 2 p.m. PT on Sept. 30 on Facebook.

The Ford C. Frick Award has been presented annually since 1978 for excellence in baseball broadcasting, and is given to an active or retired broadcaster with a minimum of 10 years of continuous Major League broadcast service with a ballclub, network or a combination of the two.

Mariners legend Dave Niehaus won the award in 2008.

Rizzs has taken over as the Mariners' primary radio voice this season following Niehaus' death. He'd worked alongside Niehaus for 25 previous seasons.

Fairly is one of seven broadcasters who have worked on a rotating basis with Rizzs in the radio booth this year.